Spencerian Flourishing with Chief White House Calligrapher, Pat Blair


Spring is here!

I had such a treat last weekend, spending two days with a group of fabulous calligraphers, to learn from Pat Blair who is the Chief White House Calligrapher.  Not only did we learn the strokes and flourishing techniques of the Spencerian lettering style, but we got the chance to peek at the collection of invitations, menus, place cards and more that have been created for many White House events over the years.  What a treat!

But my favorite part of the workshop was the flourishing!  Oh how I love to use my pen to create flowers, wreaths, bows and anything else possible.  Here is something I created that was inspired by my morning walk!  Even though there was a chill in the air, the trees were blooming.  A welcome sight. Enjoy!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bridget
    Apr 05, 2011 @ 11:51:08

    I love this! It is not spring here in NYS …. it is snowing!!

    Reply

Leave a comment

/* */