Fun Girls’ Weekend Invitation


Love, Love, Love being a part of the planning for a girl’s weekend!  We need our girlfriends!  I am about to go on one myself:)  Can’t wait!

In the meantime, I had the pleasure of creating some “girls weekend invitations” for the fabulous photographer Angie Weedon of  Angela Weedon Photography.  She decided on margarita shaped decorated cookies with the girls names and basic weekend info hand lettered on the cookie.  They are made by the always fabulous baking duo of Carolyn Arnold and Mary Holman.  I added the hand lettering in food coloring, and the candy lime slice and ribbons.  Then they were put into the boxes that are decorated with fabric and coordinating crinkle paper to add color and cushioning.

Personalized margarita cookie invitationThe lime shaped candy added a special added touch.

Angie provided the fabric, which came from Moona Fabrics . ( Lots of cool vintage patterns.) The information card was printed utilizing her colors of turquoise, orange, lime green and white.  A final margarita seal on the outside of the box adds to the suspense of what’s inside.

Information card for girls weekend

I was so excited to use my new calligraphy font on the card !  I am working hard to get it done.  But I want to take the time to include all kinds of cool stylistic alternatives so the release date will likely be mid May.  But it is fun to have the basic version on my computer and to actually use it for some projects.

Back to the invitations…they went in the mail Saturday so hopefully the guests will start receiving them sometime next week.

Hand lettered addresses on boxed invitation

I can’t wait to hear their reaction.

It is truly the coolest thing for me to participate in some small way to celebrate the gathering of girlfriends!

I love my local girls too! Wish we could get together more often.

Do you have a group of gals you get together with on a regular basis?

Do you have long time friends, like me, who live in different states, but you all make the time every year or so to take a trip together?   I’d love to hear about your group of gals.  Do you have a name?  Our is “Club Girls”.

Oh and don’t tell Angie, but I made an invite for her too.  I thought it would be fun for her to experience what her guests will feel when they open their mailbox to find this delicious treat!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Collins
    Jun 27, 2012 @ 18:17:54

    What kind of boxes did you use for mailing??

    Reply

Leave a Reply

/* */
