Chic Backyard Girls Gathering


I just returned from a wonderful visit to my hometown of Erie, Pa.  One of my oldest friends, Bev Verbeke, who also happens to be a fabulous graphic designer, hosted a lovely girls gathering in her charming, beautifully landscaped backyard.

Those attending were my three sisters, niece and great niece.  The “tiki hut” (minus the actual tiki torches) was the perfect setting to dine, relax and catch up.

The yummy buffet was easy peasy take out from a local grocery store.

Niece DeAnna prepares delicious “Creamsicles”.

The side garage door gets a grand entrance treatment with this metal trellis, natural wreath, deocrative terra cotta suns and stone foot path.

Even the side garage window houses a garden pot, shutters and lovely lilies below.

Flowering garden pots, another decorative sun and a watering can provide a beautiful feast for the eyes at the back door.

The other side of the back door provides a welcome place to sit and enjoy the view.  Another sun, more potted plants and watering can continue the outdoor theme. Oh and note the color of the chair pads too!

Not only is the decor fabulous but her plants and flowers provide the perfect setting. Gorgeous hydrangeas in the most delicious color!

Lush ferns.

Birdbath with succulents.

The front of the house is the perfect charming cottage look. Isn’t it so inviting? And the outside of her house isn’t the only uniquely designed space. Every where you look in her home, form, function and great design are evident.

A peek inside…through the mustard yellow back door…reveals a sweet touch…a welcome sign created with my Belluccia font!  Bev admits to seeing this idea previously on my blog and has been delighting her guests ever since:)  Love that.

Notice the colors of the couch in the sun porch match the outside and inside color scheme of the house and yard.  The girl does not miss a trick.

Another idea from my blog that Bev expanded on was using a chalkboard to let your guests know the schedule for the day.  I don’t think she planned it but her outfit even matches the clock on the wall, which is, like every functional thing in her house, also well designed.

A gift from a friend, this fab light hangs over her kitchen table.  Again the mustard yellow is used in the kitchen making everything, including this cool print, pop.

You’ll be seeing some of Bev’s graphic design work in an upcoming post.

And I’m pleased to say we are having some chats about collaborating on some projects.

In the meantime, thanks BK, for a lovely evening and letting me share your darling abode with my readers!

Once the weather cools a bit, I’ll be looking to purchase a “tiki hut” of my own for a future girls night in Dallas.

What other gatherings might fit this theme?  A bridesmaid luncheon?  Or use several tents for a bridal or baby shower?

Belluccia font

And as always my calligraphy font, Belluccia, one of myfonts Most Popular Fonts for 2011 ( and celebrating over one year on the Best Seller’s list), is available at : myfonts.com and fontbros.com.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amy
    Jul 20, 2012 @ 17:01:01

    I recognize those lovely women! What a beautiful space Bev has created. I want her to come deal with my own house!

    Reply

  2. Debi Sementelli
    Jul 20, 2012 @ 19:41:21

    Me too Amy! I told her I’d fly her down when we eventually move to our next house. She’s incredibly talented.

    Reply

Leave a comment

/* */