New Lettering Art Studio logo design


Lettering Art Studio, hand lettering, calligraphy, cursive font

Lettering Art Studio New Logo 2012

I’m very excited to present my new logo!  The old one needed updating and like the cobbler’s kids who often go without shoes, I’ve been so busy with projects it took awhile to get to do my own.  I’m very happy with the results.  I thought I’d share a little of the process with you.

Lettering, Hand Lettering, Lettering Art Studio, cursive font, calligraphy

New Lettering Art Studio Logo 2012 Stacked

First, I wanted the design to reflect the general style of my script hand lettering.  But I also included the word “ART” in Roman caps to emphasize the fact that I work in a variety of lettering styles.

Next I wanted the logo to have some connectivity between the three words for several reasons. First of all, lettering is an art.  It is a skill that takes time to master.  In addition, I am a lettering artist but I also do other things with pens and brushes and ink, such as line illustrations that are more easily recognized as “art”.  So connecting these three words was an important part of the process for me.

Lettering, Hand Lettering, Calligraphy, Lettering Art Studio, Cursive font

Hand Lettering for New Lettering Art Studio Logo 2012

So with all that in mind I created the the original artwork seen above in grayscale.  Now the question was how to make it pop with the use of color and other cool details.  This is when it’s important to know your limitations.  So I immediately called my friend Janell Wimberly who also happens to be one of the best logo designers I know.

I gave her the artwork and she did her magic adding drop shadows and highlights and repositioning the words so they could also be used in a horizontal format. ( for my new website soon to be launched!)

They only thing left to determine was the color.  Being a lover of trees, when I saw the charcoal green she had chosen, a visual immediately came to mind… the tree in my front yard.  (And any tree in spring that has that beautiful combination of bright green leaves against charcoal trunk and branches.)

It always refreshes and renews me.  So what better choice for my new logo!  After taking a pic, I realized the connecting lines of the script also mimic the way branches entwine.

So what do you think of my new look?

tree, green tree

DIY Wedding Invitation

And as always my calligraphy font, Belluccia, one of myfonts Most Popular Fonts for 2011, is available at : myfonts.com and fontbros.com.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Xandra Zamora
    Apr 04, 2012 @ 15:43:49

    Love it! xoxo

    Reply

  2. Nancy
    Apr 04, 2012 @ 20:34:56

    Very nice Debi!

    Reply

  3. Roxie Nichols
    Apr 04, 2012 @ 21:04:58

    Absolutely beautiful !!!

    Reply

  4. webdesignbizz
    Sep 26, 2012 @ 08:18:30

    Wow great!I really like your letter logo design idea..Great job done keep it up!! http://www.webdesignbizz.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

/* */
