DIY Valentine’s Invitation with Belluccia Font


Tickled Pink Valentine's Party Invitation

It’s time for the annual Kaligrafos Valentine’s Exchange Party!

Front and Back of Valentine Invitation featuring my Belluccia font,flourishes and oraments with hand lettered envelope

I was happy to create this “Tickled Pink” invitation for it.  Several of our Kaligrafos members volunteered to do all the calligraphy on the envelopes.  The White lettering on the dark pink envelope really pops!

Hand lettered envelope in white on Deep Pink

Here’s the quick DIY steps:

Darice brand Sticky Shapes

1. I used the pre-cut heart shapes purchased at Michael’s.  Since only one side has an adhesive, and I wanted to attach something to both sides, I sprayed the back side of the pink paper I chose for the back of the invitation with 3M 77 Multi-purpose adhesive spray.  Then I attached the non-adhesive side of the heart to the adhesive sprayed paper.  I was able to fit 4 on a 12″ x 12″ piece of pink pattered paper purchased at Hobby Lobby.  ( Say that three times:) Then I cut the paper around the hearts using an x-acto knife.

Pink Patterned Paper attached to heart

2. I traced the heart and scanned it into my computer so I could design all the lettering to fit into the heart.  Using Adobe Illustrator, I placed the scanned heart on a layer to use as a guide.  On a second layer, I created the design using my Belluccia font, flourishes and ornaments.  I chose to put the lettering on a slant for a more dramatic touch. I also created the background flourish and ornament design in a lighter pink.  You can download the PDF here.

Heart outline copy

3.To print, I used a white shimmer Stardream paper in text weight.  I was able to fit two on an 8.5″ x 11″.

Heart and printed page with Belluccia font on light table ready for cutting.

4. I placed the printed sheet on my light table so I could see where the wording was located. I placed the heart over the wording, making sure everything fit.  Then using my x-acto knife, I cut around the heart.  I purposely wanted some of the flourishes to go off the edge.  If you don’t have a light table, you could use a window with light behind it and trace the heart in pencil before cutting.

5. Lastly, I attached the feather to the center of the heart using a glitter stick-on pink foam heart.  Both the feathers and the stick-on hearts are available at any craft store.

That’s it!  I’d be “tickled pink” if you decided to make these:)  Please send me a pic for posting if you do!

Kaligrafos is the name of the Dallas Calligraphy Society, a wonderful group of talented sharing calligraphers and artists.  We have meetings 8 months of the year with programs focused on various calligraphic hands and related artistic fields. We offer a variety of workshops and classes in which to participate including free workshops aimed at new members or to those who wish to enhance a particular hand. No matter where you are in your lettering journey, join us – we all start somewhere, so why not now?

And as always my calligraphy font, Belluccia, one of myfonts Most Popular Fonts for 2011, is available at : myfonts.com and fontbros.com.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary Lou
    Feb 01, 2012 @ 19:51:15

    As always, just beautiful, Deb. I still have your wedding invitation and scroll that you sent “years age”. cuz – Mary Lou

    Reply

    • Debi Sementelli
      Feb 01, 2012 @ 22:47:55

      Thanks Mary Lou! I believe that would be my wedding invitation from 27 years ago that you’re talking about:) Nice to hear from you. Hope all is well with you and your family.

      Best,
      Debi

      Reply

Leave a Reply

/* */
