Hand lettered Logo for ‘Faith in Public Life’


I was so excited to spend the weekend in D.C where I had the honor of painting the logo on the wall of  Faith in Public Life ‘s new office.  Their mission is to create “a strategy center for the faith community advancing faith in the public square as a powerful force for justice, compassion and the common good”.  It was great to finally meet the people I’ve heard so much about and in addition, have a wonderful weekend with my son, Nick, who also happens to work there.

Logo of Faith in Public Life

Everyone on the staff was so friendly and welcoming.  If you are interested in learning more about this organization, you can take a look at their website here.

While in D.C, I also came across a happy surprise while shopping at Target for curtains and throw pillows to liven up Nick’s apartment.

Poster of St. Jude's ad with my lettering

It was the ad featuring my lettering for a St. Jude Children’s Hospital promotion. I’ve seen it in magazines but this is the first time I’ve seen it at full poster size in their store.  I was so proud and excited.   You can see my first announcement of my work on this ad here.

Once the work was done, my son, a foodie, took me to some amazing restaurants in D.C.  The best of them was Graffiato by Mike Isabella.

Graffiato's Restaurant

Our amazing meal consisted of: Flatbread with pepperoni sauce; Crispy brussel sprouts with pancetta, maple and egg; Wild boar with chestnut, apple and balsamic; and Roasted potato gnocchi with black truffle and wild mushrooms.  We ended with two desserts because it was impossible to decide.  Our final choices were: Chocolate tart with olive oil, pine nuts, and sea salt gelato; and Zeppoles with autumn spices and pumpkin caramel. YUM!  They were both worth the calories.  I also enjoyed a delectable breakfast at Rustik in Nick’s Bloomingdale neighborhood. They serve the best cornmeal pancakes with  pears and mascarpone cheese.  I know this isn’t a food blog, but these meals were just too delicious not to mention.

And what kind of mother would I be if I didn’t post about the wonderful homemade meal my own son made?

Butternut Squash Ravioli with Roasted Cauliflower and Kale Vinaigrette

Nick prepared a delicious butternut squash ravioli with roasted cauliflower and kale vinaigrette.  I was blown away by the skill of his cooking!

Speaking of surprises, who goes to a concert at someone’s townhouse? One of Nick’s friends is committed to supporting local artists and musicians.  The weekend I was in town, the featured trio happened to be the Sligo Creek Stompers.

Sligo Creek Stompers

Needless to say, there was a lot of great music and foot stomping.  I ended up buying their CD and if you’re interested, you can check them out here.

It wouldn’t be a trip to D.C. without attending a Georgetown Hoya basketball game at the Verizon Center.  While leaving the game, I just had to capture a picture of the gate to the entrance of Chinatown.

Gate to Chinatown

The more I visit D.C. the more I love it!

And as always my calligraphy font, Belluccia is available at : myfonts.com and fontbros.com.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heather Walrath
    Jan 12, 2012 @ 18:26:52

    Glad you had a great weekend in DC, Debi! The weather has been pretty good overall, too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

/* */
