More Unique Guest Book ideas


I love creating things that are non- traditional.   So when Julie Weaver of the Ritz Carlton contacted me to create this Unique Guest Book for her sister’s wedding, I was thrilled.  The funny thing was, the picture she sent me to show me what she wanted was one of a book I’d already done for another client!  So I definitely knew the process to create it:)

She chose the “LOVE” book published by National Geographic and authored by Ferdinand Protzman.  The paper she brought me to use was from Paper Source ( my heaven on earth).   I used brown and red to bring out the colors in the paper and coordinate with the cover of the book which was red. She had me inscribe a saying by John Lennon on the inside cover.  She presented it as a gift at a bridal shower in her sister’s honor.   Love was definitely in the air that day!

Personalized Guest Book

"love" book cover

I actually purchased one of these “love” books for a future contest give away:) I have DIY instructions on how to duplicate the look of  this Guest Book in my older posts from April 14 and July 15, 2011 .

Another client came to me with an idea she’d seen.  She wanted me to paint the bride and groom’s initials on a platter.  I’d never done this before, so of course I jumped at the chance to do something new!   I used Gloss enamel paints in brown and deep salmon.  The platter can be “baked” in the oven to better adhere the paint.

Her guests signed the platter using brown sharpies.  The end result will make a beautiful display in their new home.

Guest "Book" Platter

Here’s the platter all filled in!

Platter signed by guests

Still a third client opted for a Matted Photo of the Bride and Groom to be signed by guests.  These are available at any craft store and relatively inexpensive to do.  I hand lettered the saying “better together forever” as well as their names and wedding date onto the mat.

Matted Photo for Signing

Here is a sample of the invitation, addressed envelope and place cards that I did for this couple who got married in the beautiful land of San Diego!  I loved the simple, clean look they created.  I chose an all lower case, modern lettering style to compliment it.

Invite,envelope and place cards in lower case modern lettering

As always my calligraphy font , Belluccia,  is still available for purchase at Myfonts.com.  I am slowly working on the next font.  It’s a challenge to do my regular work, which I love, and add in time to work on the font.  I love it all!! If I could eliminate eating and sleeping, I’d have all the time I needed:)

My calligraphy font, Belluccia

My next “Intro to Calligraphy” workshop at Paper Source in North Park Center will be October 8 from 1-4 pm.  There are only a few spots left. You can call 214-696-4400 to reserve your seat.  This workshop is very beginner and a lot of fun.  We use calligraphy and brush markers to learn basic strokes.  Then play with Paper Source products to see what the possibilities are!

My next give away for new subscribers to my blog will be coming up soon.  In addition, if you tell someone about my blog and they subscribe you will be entered in a contest as well.  I’m still working on the details but I’ll let you know soon.

To connect with me here are the following links:  Letterheadgirl on Twitter, Lettering Art Studio facebook page, My pics on Flickr, Lettering Art Studio website

Thanks for reading!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kim Levine
    Sep 11, 2011 @ 19:43:33

    I absolutely love all the details Debi provides to make your wedding unique. Lettering Art Studio is the place to go for that personalized touch for any occasion.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

/* */
