More pics from BONT Magazine Spread and DIY Table number project


My last post included my own pics of the items I created for the latest issue of  the Brides of North Texas magazine spread.  Now I can show you the official photos from the magazine (photography by Edmondson Weddings), which are just lovely.

In addition to the Coco Chanel themed spread for DFW Events, I was also thrilled to be a part of the pages created by Holly Tripp Events.

And how lucky can a girl be?  Very lucky.  There was also a feature on Kandi and Hunter Mahan’s wedding, coordinated by Misty Duncan Events.  Some of the work I did for the wedding also made it into the magazine.  Needless to say, being lucky enough to have my work with three great event planners all in one magazine is cause for  doing the happy dance:)

I am also including a DIY project to show how I made the three dimensional table number that was a part of the Coco Chanel shoot.

First the magazine pics:

Brides of North Texas Magazine spread by DFW Events

My work includes: Hand lettering on dinner plates and charger plate, hand lettered invitation and envelope. Love the blush and black combo!

Brides of North Texas Magazine Spread by DFW Events

My work includes: Three Dimensional Table number ( No. 5 of course!), favor tags for french soap and perfume bottle.

Brides of North Texas Magazine Spread by Holly Tripp Events

My work includes: “Let them eat cake” sign and pink with white place cards.

Signature cocktails

This pic, by Holly Tripp, didn’t make it into the magazine but I just love the look of the pink cocktails.  I created the  “Signature Cocktail” sign.

Now for the DIY  Three Dimensional Table number instructions:

Supplies

Supplies include: pink material, wire that is sturdy enough to hold beads and be molded into number shape, black beads with holes large enough to place on wire, circular styrofoam, ribbon, scissors, material cutter, ruler, spray adhesive.

styrofoam with pink material

1. Cut a square of material to cover styrofoam, then cut off corners

material attached to styrofoam

3. Remove styrofoam from material and spray with adhesive.  Place on material and bring up around sides and top which will actually become the bottom.

Ribbon attached to styrofoam base covered in pink material

4.Turn the base over so the smooth side is now on top, spray wrong side of ribbon with adhesive, and attach around top of base.

base with "table" sign attached

5. Trace base on matching card stock. Cut out and attach to bottom ( for stability).  Hand letter or print “table” on card stock.  Cut out and attach to ribbon.

Beads on molded wire

6. Mold wire into desired number and add beads ( with holes that are large enough for wire to go through.) Leave enough wire at bottom of number to stick into base. Angle the wire for better support. Paint the wire the same color as the material ( in this case pink) so that it blends in better.  I also added a small pink chiffon ribbon that was tied to the wire at the base.

Table numbers in pink and black

Wallah!  As you can see I made another one with pink beads, but they didn’t have holes large enough for the thicker wire so I had to use thinner wire.  This was a problem as it didn’t support the weight of the beads so I had to re-inforce it with thicker wire, which was visible. That’s why it’s always good to create a sample so you know of any problems in advance.

Luckily the black beads worked perfectly!

Hope you have fun making table numbers of your own!

Now for ongoing info:

Belluccia font

My calligraphy font Belluccia of the”Correspondence Ink” type foundry is still on the Best Sellers list on myfonts.com.  Check it out!

I’m working on another script font that I hope to release at the end of September or beginning of October.

I’m still giving away ” Welcome Banner” artwork to new subscribers until Aug. 20. You can use it for your personal use.

Free artwork when you subscribe to my blog. Ends Aug. 20

My next “Intro to Calligraphy” class will be held October 8 from 1-4 pm at Paper Source in North Park Center.  There is limited seating and the class fills up fast.  So get a spot now.  Call Paper Source at 214-696-4400.

To connect with me here are the following links:  Letterheadgirl on Twitter, Lettering Art Studio facebook page, My pics on Flickr, Lettering Art Studio website

Thanks for reading!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Helen
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 15:33:13

    Everything is so beautiful!

    Reply

  2. Debi Sementelli
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 16:15:36

    Thanks Helen! They were both fun themes to work with.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

/* */
