Coco Chanel inspired calligraphy for DFW Events and Brides of North Texas Magazine


I was thrilled to be selected as one of the vendors for DFW Events magazine spread in The Brides of North Texas latest issue hitting news stands August 9!

First here’s a peek at the “Inside the Inspiration” video created by BEYOND.

Brides of North Texas /DFW Events CoCo Chanel photo shoot

Now here’s my pics of the pieces while they were still in my studio. ( not as good as professional but they’ll do in a pinch:)

Pink and black invitation and envelope for Coco Chanel shootThe invitation and envelope were designed to work with the striking pink and black theme.  I chose a non-traditional script in all lower case that, like Coco, breaks some of the rules:)  I always love to use an ampersand as a design element. In this case, it’s done in white to add a little more interest to the envelope.

French saying around edge of glass charger plate, "merci" card

I loved the idea of using actual french sayings about love to grace the plates.  In this pic, I used the lettering as a design element on the glass charger.  I also did several small signs that said “merci”.  The one they chose used pink shimmer card stock with black lettering. It was cut down and placed on the Chanel bottle in the video.  They also chose a name card using the same combination that was placed one of the favors-a bar of french soap.

I forgot the actual translation of this particular saying but I remember the thought being that when you love someone, instead of looking in the direction of each other, it’s better if you are both looking in the same direction to the future.  But don’t quote me on that:)

French saying brush lettering on plate

“The price of love is only love”.  A perfect sentiment for a wedding plate.  The lettering is done with a brush and gouache paint.  I’ve actually been meaning to experiment with doing it in permanent paint so it could be given as a gift  and used by the Bride and Groom at their recepetion.  ( And maybe for anniversary dinners !)

I will have to put that on my to do list:)

Table numbers for Coco Chanel shoot

Loved working with beads and wire to put together these table numbers.  A DIY post will follow soon!  The perfect choice for the photo shoot was “No.5” of course!

Je taime hand lettered on black plate in pink

The iconic “Je taime” ( I love you)  and the Eiffel tower were done in both pink on black and black on white, which is what they chose for the photo shoot.  This combination was the perfect fit for this occassion!

Quote by Coco Chanel

Last but not least, is a framed saying by Coco Chanel using my Belluccia calligraphy font!

brush lettered "enchante"

brush lettered "tres bien"

These are two of the plates that didn’t get used.  It’s always fun to see which items get chosen.

Merci Beaucoup! to DFW Events and Brides of North Texas Magazine for allowing me to be a part of this stunning issue !

Have a great saying to be permanently painted on a plate?  Let me know.  When I do my sample, I may end up using your saying and giving you the plate!

My calligraphy font Belluccia of the”Correspondence Ink” type foundry is still  #3 on the Best Sellers list on myfonts.com.   In addition it will soon also be sold on Fontbros.com. I’ll let you know when.

By the way, my next “Intro to Calligraphy” class will be held October 8 from 1-4 pm at Paper Source in North Park Center.  There is limited seating and the class fills up fast.  So get a spot now.  Call Paper Source at 214-696-4400.

To connect with me here are the following links:  Letterheadgirl on Twitter, Lettering Art Studio facebook page, My pics on Flickr, Lettering Art Studio website

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jody Meese
    Aug 05, 2011 @ 19:59:55

    Debi, your work is so beautiful and imaginative! Really an inspiration. Enjoyed meeting you at IAMPETH–not too many of us Erie-ites around! All the best!

    Reply

  2. Candis Dunn &Marsha Crawford
    Aug 09, 2011 @ 13:05:45

    Hi Debi ~ This is SO amazing! Congratulations!! We would like to share your font on our Facebook page if that’s ok with you! Hope you are doing well!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

/* */
