Anniversary Gift inspired by Wine and the Number Three


I have to admit when I first spoke to this client over the phone I didn’t quite get the visual she was describing. Using a wine bottle as a stamp? It took her sending me a rough sketch before the light bulb went off. I thought it was a really clever idea. My part was adding the words in a lettering style that would compliment the simplicity of the print.

3 year anniversary gift


Loved the wrapping paper she created for it as well.

Print covered in Hand made wrapping paper

So I asked her how she thought of this idea and what was the meaning behind it. What she told me was really cool so with her permission, I am sharing it. She also mentioned that if anyone has interest in having her create something similar with another number, she’s available to do that! Just contact me for her info.

Here’s what she said:

Our third anniversary was approaching and I wanted to do something special. But what???? I first thought of the traditional route. You know, paper for the first anniversary, cotton for the second, etc. *YAWN*
Third Anniversary. Three years. The number three. Hmmmmm. What about the number 3? What is the significance of the number three????

Quite a lot, actually! Starting from the top: the trinity.
There are many beautiful symbols for the trinity, but I came across this one which I especially liked for its simplicity.

Picture of the trinity symbol

This symbol is a triad or trinity. It is a symbol of the unity of body, mind and spirit.
It can be interpreted in many different senses:
Body/mind/spirit in a circle of synthesis;
Past/present/future enclosed in the ring of eternity;
Thought/word/deed bound in a circle of truth (this last one, I added myself).

Oh, look what we have here: 3 phrases of 3 words each!
It made sense that those words MUST be added to the design.
Then it occurred to me that I could incorporate our love of wine into the design by stamping the bottom of wine bottles into ink and pressing them onto paper.
I chose the wine we discovered on our first trip to Napa for the circles.

( Did you know that practically every wine bottle has its own unique pattern stamped into the glass? Really, turn a bottle upside down and check for yourself!)
I did some further research on the significance of the number three and was amazed at how prevalent it is in our everyday lives, infiltrating everything from religion to music to science to physiology to language.

Love the whole process she took . If you want to see the research she compiled about the meaning of the number three, click on this download:Three
The meanings behind numbers has me intrigued. My favorite number has always been 7. Probably because it was the number I had in school and so it’s familiar. I don’t know any special meaning behind it but lucky seven has a nice ring to it too!

What’s your favorite number and what makes it so?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dee Sandlin
    May 25, 2011 @ 13:01:00

    Thanks, Debi for helping me create a beautiful gift for someone I love. It would not have been nearly as special without your exquisite lettering. It was also a pleasure to work with you and learn about your business. You do amazing work!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

/* */
